Hello everyone!

Union draw Braga, Malmö and Union St. Gilloise

Europa League Opponents Confirmed:

Fri, 26. August 2022
Union draw Braga, Malmö and Union St. Gilloise

With a historic fifth place in last season's Bundesliga, 1. FC Union Berlin qualified for the group stage of the UEFA Europa League 2022/23. Today's draw in Istanbul placed Union in Group D alongside the following teams: 

  • SC Braga
  • Sporting Braga play their home games in the Estádio Municipal, and qualified directly for the group stage as 4th in the Portuguese Primeira Liga. For one Unioner the fixture takes on an added meaning because defender Diogo Leite spent his time there on loan, before his move to Köpenick.


  • Malmö FF
  • The Swedish club play in the Eleda stadium. As fifth in the Swedish top flight they had to take part in the third qualification round, followed by a play-off. They won these games against F91 Düdelingen and Sivasspor.


  • Royale Union St. Gilloise
  • Last season the small team from near Brussels did the impossible. Newly promoted, they went on to win the league. But St. Gilloise's involvement in the Champions League was ended early after losing to Rangers, qualifying for the Europa League instead.

"At first glance Group D is very interesting and varied" said Union's director of professional football, Oliver Ruhnert after the draw. "But it is also a difficult group. Nevertheless, there is a chance for us to spend the winter in the Europa League. We will enjoy every game and look forward to playing the other clubs," 

The first group games are on 08.09.2022, the sixth and final ones taking place on 03.11.2022. The play-offs, and consequent knockout rounds start in February 2023, leading to the final in Budapest's Puskás Arena on 31.05.2023.

Exact details of where and when these fixtures take place will be announced on Saturday (27.08.2022).

  • Group A 
    PSV Eindhoven 
    FC Zürich 
  • Group B 
    Dynamo Kyiv 
    Stade Rennes 
    AEK Larnaka 
  • Group C 
    AS Roma 
    Ludogorets Rasgrad 
    Real Betis 
    HJK Helsinki 
  • Group D 
    SC Braga 
    Malmö FF 
    1. FC Union Berlin 
    Royale Union St. Gilloise