You're here? Awesome!

Union Represented Twice in Final Voting

Goal of the Year 2022

Sun, 15. January 2023
Union Represented Twice in Final Voting

1. FC Union Berlin were twice honoured as the scorers of the "Goal of the Month" in 2022. Andreas Voglsammer in January and the duo of Sven Michel and Kevin Behrens in April. Now they are in the running for the "Goal of the Year".

Voglsammer, who now plays for Millwall FC, scored his 11th minute opener against Hertha BSC in the DFB Pokal round of 16. Voglsammer managed to reach a cross from Max Kruse that was a little overhit, stretching with his right foot, lifting the ball back over Boyata and the keeper, Schwolow and artfully inside the back post.

Michel and Behrens' effort came in the match against RB Leipzig in the final minute of normal time. After a pass from Sheraldo Becker, Michel split the defence with a "no-look" back-heeled pass, which the on-rushing Behrens finished with speed and precision. With it Union turned the game, securing three points and certain revenge for the bitter semi-final loss in the Cup three days earlier.

Now it's up to all Unioner! You can vote for one of the two goals here until Sunday, 29 January 2023 at 00:00.