Frederik Rönnow is Unioner of the Year

The Fans' Votes Have Been Counted

Sat, 02. September 2023
Frederik Rönnow is Unioner of the Year

Union's Footballer of the Year 2022/23 is Frederik Rönnow. He won the fans' vote, organised annually by the creators of the matchday programme. Last year's winner was captain, Christopher Trimmel.

The Danish goalkeeper came from Eintracht Frankfurt in the summer of 2021 and soon established himself as the rock at the Union's back. Since his transfer, he has made 57 appearances for Union and has 21 clean sheets.

Against FSV Mainz 05, Union's last home match, Rönnow achieved a historic feat: never before has a goalkeeper managed to save two penalties from the same striker in the Bundesliga.

On Sunday, "Freddy" will collect his award on Sunday - alongside a well deserved round of applause - before the home match against Leipzig.

Second and third places this year go to Robin Knoche and Rani Khedira.

The placings at a glance

  • 1 Frederik Rönnow
  • 2 Robin Knoche
  • 3 Rani Khedira
  • 4 Christopher Trimmel
  • 5 Sheraldo Becker
  • 6 Danilho Doeki
  • 7 Janik Haberer
  • 8 Diogo Leite
  • 9 Josip Juranovic
  • 10 Aïssa Laïdouni and András Schäfer